Book

Author:
Genre: Anthology
8 Books for Christmas 2023 Around the world

Literary Article

November 30, 2023

This post may contain affiliate links and we may earn a small commission when you click on the links at no additional cost to you. As an affiliate, we earn from qualifying purchases. You can read our full affiliate links disclosure here.

Book Recommendations for Christmas 2023 around the world

As the festive season approaches, the allure of curling up with a heartwarming Christmas story becomes irresistible. This year, why not delve into a world of diverse narratives that celebrate the spirit of the holidays while showcasing the richness of human experiences? Here’s a selection of captivating books that will transport you to enchanting realms and introduce you to unforgettable characters. Bring Action, adventure, murder mystery, fairy tale, and more to your Christmas 2023 and give your literary trip the excitement, and yet another aspect of diversity. While these are mainly books aimed at children, adults can read them too and keep the child in them alive, in accordance with the festive season.

A World of Cookies for Santa by M. E. Furman

A World Of Cookies For Santa - Follow Santa's Tasty Trip Around The World - Written by M. E. Furman and Illustrated by Susan GalEmbark on a delightful journey with Santa as he embarks on his global cookie-tasting adventure. From the sweet potato cookies of Malawi to the honey-spice cookies of Russia, this charming picture book celebrates cultural diversity and the joy of sharing treats. Not only do you get to know new treats from around the world, but the book even offer recipes for them! And it is not just the diverse versions of cookies. The beverage that helps rince down their goodness is also mentioned and varies too. In the Philippines, they serve Santa Ginger tea you see! A world of amazement, richness, stories, recipes and the joy of a celebrated season. Now we know why Santa is soooo oh oh oh round, he is full of tasty world cookies… and the associated drinks!

Christmas in Lagos (Nigerian Holidays and Celebrations Book 1) by Sharon Abimbola Salu

Christmas in Lagos (Nigerian Holidays and Celebrations Book 1) by Sharon Abimbola Illustrated by Maria Nikla

Celebrate Christmas 2023 in Lagos! Step into the vibrant streets of Lagos, Nigeria, where a young girl named Abeni prepares for a Christmas celebration filled with family, music, and mouthwatering dishes. This heartwarming story showcases the unique traditions and festivities of a Nigerian Christmas. Will little Ranti’s Christmas be any less special or beautiful than that of her classmates just because, unlike them she will not be spending her Christmas abroad? With the encouramragement of her teacher, the 6-year old little girl embarks on writing a journal that details the exciting time she has at Christmas. Sometimes, writing things down make us realise the treasures that we already have, and in this tale, unveils what makes a local Christmas in Lagos a unique and fabulous experience.

Walk This World at Christmas Time by Zoanna Davidson and Mary Sebag-Montefiore

Walk This World at Christmas Time by by Zoanna Davidson (Author) Mary Sebag-Montefiore (Author) Debbie Powell (Illustrator)Let’s take a stroll around the world,
to all four corners of the globe.
Peek through windows, open doors,
watch as Christmastime unfolds . . .

Follow the journey of a young girl and her grandmother as they explore the world’s diverse Christmas traditions. From the colorful lanterns of Parol in the Philippines to the vibrant Kwanzaa celebrations, this beautifully illustrated book promotes understanding and appreciation of different cultures.

Princess Poinsettia: An Enchanted Christmas Story by Sherry Adepitan

Princess Poinsettia An Enchanted Christmas Story by Sherry Adepitan - Christmas 2023 recommendationIn 98 pages full of magic, action, and adventure, discover the enchanting tale of a young girl who embarks on a quest to save Christmas. The blurb reads: By the age of five, Gabrielle North had quite an imagination. She would grow up bringing her enchanted make-believe friends to life in the most wonderful Christmas stories you could ever imagine. The greatest story she would ever tell would be her own …when she must break a Christmas Eve curse to save the world. This captivating story blends folklore, fantasy, and the spirit of giving, making it a perfect read for children and adults alike.

 

The Very Merry Murder Club: A wintery collection of new mystery fiction edited by Serena Patel and Robin Stevens

The Very Merry Murder Club A wintery collection of new mystery fiction edited by Serena Patel and Robin StevensThe Very Merry Murder Club is a collection of heartwarming and humorous Christmas mysteries and wide range of story types featuring seven diverse characters from different backgrounds. This children’s book celebrates the power of community and togetherness during the holiday season. Authors in this anthology include Abiola Bello, Annabelle Sami, Benjamin Dean, E. L. Norry, Elle McNicoll, Robin Stevens (Author), J.T. Williams (Joanna Williams, Author), Maisie Chan, Nizrana Farook, Patrice Lawrence, Roopa Farooki, Serena Patel (yes, also one of the editors), Sharna Jackson, Dominique Valente (Author), Harry Woodgate (Illustrator)

The Night the Reindeer Saved Christmas by by Raj Kaur

The Night the Reindeer Saved ChristmasOr how Santa met his reindeers. This Christmas adventure follows Santa as he sets out to find a creature that can help him deliver Christmas gifts across the world. From polar bears to narwhals to reindeers, Mr Claus seeks the perfect helper and discovers that the female reindeers have a secret… they can fly! “This charming picture book has a feminist angle, as it is inspired by the little known fact that Santa Claus’s reindeer are female, as only female reindeer keep their antlers during the winter!” The Night the reindeer saved Christmas is illustrated by Kasia Nowowiejska.

Nadiya’s Bake Me a Festive Story: Thirty festive recipes and stories for children by Nadiya Hussain

Nadiya's Bake Me a Festive Story: Thirty festive recipes and stories for childrenExperience the joys of Christmas through the eyes of Nadiya Hussain, the beloved British chef and author. Nadiya combines story telling and recipes to showcase the magic part of food in creating a heartwarming Christmas. Taste the Snow Queen’s treacle icecream, go an adventure with the Elves at the Chouxmaker and bake your own lemon choux buns, try a scrumptious nut roast to pair with Nadiya’s own ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas and many more. Children can experience the adventures through the stories and by tasting the feast that accompanies them in recipe through the words of Nadiya Hussain and the vibrant illustrations by Clair Rossiter.

The Christmas Department Store by Maudie Powell-Tuck

The Christmas Department Store written by Maudie Powell-Tuck and illustrated by and Hoang GiangThe Christmas Department Store is a children’s book written by Maudie Powell-Tuck and illustrated by and Hoang Giang. Immerse yourself in the magical world of Christmas which teaches the young Benji and all children the real meaning of Christmas. The young lad struggles to see the magic of Christmas as his family cannot afford a tree or a turkey.  The Christmas Department Store seems to be the type of book that would attract and would be a great Christmas present for fans of Julia Donaldson and Victoria Sandøy’s The Christmas Pine, Dr Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas and Chris Van Allsburg’s The Polar Express.

The end 🙂

As you curl up with these diverse and captivating stories, let the magic of Christmas transport you to worlds of wonder, tradition, and heartwarming connections. Celebrate the spirit of the holidays by embracing the richness of human experiences and the joy of sharing stories that connect us all.